Leave a comment

Miyako — Sister (Sushi) Date

Miyako’s in Capitola is one of those places I have been a hundred times, but not in the last 5 years or so. I was treating my sister to lunch, so her choice, at least we both agreed on sushi, she suggested the Miyako’s buffet. When we arrived we looked at the buffet and decided to order from the menu instead, we wanted to be adventurous, not that the buffet looked bad (just clarifying).

The owners and their family are the host and servers, we had a really sweet waitress, she was very attentive, but not overbearing. We started of with a large hot sake to share, we looked over the menu and decided on bento box that came with tempura to share. The sushi choice was left up to me, so I tried the Mary roll, which was a basic unagi roll topped with tobiko, avocado and chopped spicy tuna. I wanted to try something I had seen before on a few food shows, I mentioned to my sister and we scoured the menu looking for something like it. Finally under the nigiri sushi section we found it, sake sunrise is what they called it, no sake though, a small lump of rice topped with tobiko (flying fish eggs), a quail egg and wrapped with fish (fish of the day salmon).

Our bento box arrived with a green salad, terriyaki salmon, kimchi, steamed rice and tempura vegetables. I could drink the miso dressing that they use, it a nice and creamy without using any dairy. I’m not a fan of salmon, but I can tolerate it when slathered in terriyaki sauce, I let my sister indulge in the salmon while I ate most of the salad. Our sushi came soon after, it was like a work of art, the Mary was spicy with a slight sweetness from the unagi sauce. The sake sunrise is more of a textural thing versus a flavor thing, because I have no issue with eating a small raw egg or even fish eggs ( I love ’em), it was more the salmon that I had an issue with, but I would order again if they used any other kind of fish. I love Miyako’s forgot how much until my recent trip, glad I was there with my adventurous little sister, she’s the best eating buddy aside from Phillip.

Leave a comment